March 1, 2010

Outreach #3

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:46 pm by reacheachweek

Although, I have been keeping up with my outreach challenge each week, I have been terrible at finding the time to blog about the outreach during the week that I have done it.  I will do my best to get better at blogging on the same week of the outreach. 

Last Thursday Addison and I made homemade lasagna (okay, so Addie ate goldfish crackers in her high chair while I cooked!).  We delivered it to a lady by the name of Jenn who is 32 weeks pregnant with twins. This woman was ordered by the doctor to be on  strict bed rest for the next 4 weeks.  She also has a 2-year-old and a 4 – year old, and a husband who works full-time!  We took on the task of preparing a nice meal and delivering it to her on Thursday evening.  It was so fun to deliver the meal with Addie.  The kids were jumping up and down when I walked in the door.  The little girl who is 4 asked me what I made.  When I told her it was lasagna she looked up and me and said, “I don’t really like that food.”  I sighed and told her I was so sorry.  Her Mom was in the bedroom lying down, so I didn’t get to meet her face to face, but she did email me later on that night to tell me that she was very thankful for the dinner.

Earlier that day at around 3:00 p.m.; Addison and I FINALLY got to visit the nursing home.  We played crossword puzzles with some of the residents.  Addison really enjoyed chasing the dog around that was there.  One of the employee’s brings her dog to work each day, and this dog  just happened to love playing with Addie.  We are going to visit again this week.  We had so much fun and it was so nice to put a smile on the face of so many lonely elderly people.

I am really enjoying reaching out to our community.  I still haven’t planned this weeks outreach yet, but I am looking forward to blessing someone with the love of God! 🙂

Leave a Reply

