March 15, 2010

Outreach #5 (Spa Day)

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:15 pm by reacheachweek

Last Friday was one of my favorite outreach opportunities thus far!  I joined a group called MOPS (Mothers of Pre Schoolers), a couple of weeks ago.  This group of Mom’s along with some other ladies from the Church that hosts MOPS, decided to bless the women who work at a Women’s Shelter in Aurora called Mutual Ground with a Spa Day!  Every woman dreams of a day at the Spa!  Relaxing and not worrying about anything but themselves for a few short hours!  Well this exactly what we created for these women who work at Mutual Ground putting in tons of hours and dedicating their lives to help protect and love the abused. 

My assignment….manicures.  Now I have had many manicures in my life, but the only nails I’ve ever done myself were mine and my nieces.  This was going to be a little bit of a challenge, but I was up for it!  Thankfully, there was a sweet lady by the name of Marilyn sitting beside me who had a nail salon out of her home, she became my “nail teacher”, and I learned a lot from her that day about giving someone a manicure.  

I had such wonderful conversations with some of the ladies who had their nails done by me.  My heart broke as I heard the stories of the many battered and abused women that they work to help every day of their lives.  I wanted to ask them to hire me on to help because helping women who are hurting and in need is one of my biggest passions in life!  In fact, I’d love to travel around the country and just hold Spa Days for women all over who deserve a day to feel special.  Afterall, if we all looked at ourselves through God’s eyes…every day would feel like a Spa Day!! 🙂 

After about three hours of manicures I had to go and put my daughter down for her afternoon nap.  As I was driving home I began to pray for each one of the ladies who came to Spa Day that morning.  I hope that in the future I can be a part of another outreach opportunity like this one! 

Here are some pics from Spa Day: 

Each lady was able to pick a color for their nails from this table

A Chocolate Fountain in the Relaxation Room

1 Comment »

  1. Judy Lathrop said,

    Really awesome!


Leave a Reply

