March 22, 2010

Outreach #6 (Food Pantry Donation)

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:18 pm by reacheachweek

Last Thursday Addie and I delivered canned goods to our local Food Pantry in Naperville called Loaves and Fishes (creative name, huh?!).  I also asked the ladies in my Women’s Bible Study if they could help donate as well, and they did, so I was able to donate quite a bit of food to the pantry.  It was interesting when I came across the website for Loaves and Fishes; they had a hunger fact that caught my eye.  This is what it read:

Hunger Fact:
In February, we distributed food to 4,126 people,
helped 307 single moms feed their families,
and provided food to 1,633 hungry children
and 479 senior citizens.

Wow!!  Talk about a place that is really serving the community!  I hope to donate more food in the next couple of weeks.  I am reminded of one of my favorite verses in Matthew.

(Jesus Speaking) “I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did it for me.”  Matthew 25:40

When we serve and love people here on earth we are actually serving and loving our beautiful Savior Jesus!  That is my very heart behind this 52 week challenge.  I want to live out my LOVE for HIM daily!!

 
 

Some of our canned food for the Pantry

This is where we dropped off our donation

Addison Helping Mommy

Leave a Reply

