March 30, 2010

Outreach #7 (Marklund Children’s Home)

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:12 pm by reacheachweek

In honor of Special Education Week (which was last week), my Mom, Addison and I brought donuts and coffee cake to all of the staff at Marklund Children’s Home.  Marklund Children’s Home is a place that takes care of children and adults who have special needs (autism, downs syndrome, cerebral palsy etc…).  The staff here work very hard with these precious people.  They teach, love, and give to each and every resident day in and day out.  I thought they deserved a little recognition (and a little treat) for all of their efforts! 🙂

When we arrived at Marklund the Volunteer Coordinator, Hilsa gave us a tour of the facility.  All I can say is a big…WOW!!  What a wonderful place for people to be taken care of with special needs!  It was so great to see all of the staff interacting and loving these individuals.  I know that God is looking down on this place with a big smile on his face.  If you think of it today, say a prayer for Marklund Children’s Home.  I have added them to my prayer list, as I know that God has wonderful plans for both the residents and the staff at Marklund.

Unfortunately, I ran out the door without my camera last week for this outreach.  I was bummed that I did that, but they do have an incredible website.  Check it out if you have a chance.  http://www.marklund.org/

Leave a Reply

