May 24, 2010

Outreach #15 (Provide Food)

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:34 pm by reacheachweek

This past weekend my husband, daughter, and I went to a fair called the Taste of Glen Ellyn.  Glen Ellyn is a town right next to Wheaton where we live (for those of you who are reading this blog and don’t live in the Chicagoland area).  After checking out some of the art exhibits at the fair we decided to get some lunch at one of the many food vendors represented there. 

We found a table and sat down to enjoy our food when a lady who looked to be in her 60’s sat down next to us.  I looked over at her and smiled trying to be polite, and then continued eating my sweet corn.  A moment later the lady looked at me with sweat pouring down her face and commented on how warm it was that day.  I agreed and told her we were supposed to get warmer temps as the week progressed.  As we were talking one of the hospitality workers politely interrupted and told the lady that she checked all of the food vendors and none of them took debit or credit cards.  The lady looked at me and proceeded to tell me that her bank’s ATM was down that morning and she was unable to get cash out to eat lunch that day.  Immediately I looked at my husband and said….”we are supposed to buy this woman lunch.”  My husband said he felt the exact same way.  So I asked the lady if I could buy her lunch.  At first she rejected my offer, and then I told her that I want to bless her today and it would be great if she would let me.  She then agreed so I bought her the food of her choice and brought it back to her at the table.

As we started to clean up our mess from lunch, the lady leaned over grabbed my hand and told me thank you once again.  I smile back at her and said God bless you and have a wonderful rest of the day!!

This outreach was 100% set up by the Lord.  I had a different outreach planned for last week and in one moment the Lord led me to bless a women with no money to eat at the time.  I love it when God chooses to use US to touch someone with his love.  There is no greater calling than this!!

Leave a Reply

