June 8, 2010

Outreach #16 & 17 (Prayer and Laundry Outreach)

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:56 pm by reacheachweek

I haven’t blogged about my outreaches for the past two weeks due to the fact that I was in the process of moving.  I am now settled in my new place, but I still don’t have my internet hooked up. 😦  My Mom is gracious enough to let me borrow her computer until I am connected again.

The week of Memorial Day is when I moved, so I wasn’t able to find the time to really get out into the community and reach out.  I prayed that week that the Lord would bring something to mind that would be quick and yet an impacting outreach.  As I spent that time in prayer I felt that God was really calling me to intercede for the troops serving in war and for their families, so that is what I did.  At first I felt like this was a cop-out of doing an actual outreach, but then I was reminded that outreach is really Jesus working through us to touch someone in a special way.  What better way to do that then through prayer!!  Can I get an amen?!! 🙂

Last week my husband and I went to the bank and took out five dollars in quarters.  We then headed to a laundry mat in a lower-income part of town.  I prayed on the way there that God we lead me to the right person to give this money for laundry to.  As we drove up there was a women sitting outside of the laundry mat on a chair.  I got out of the car and walked up to her.  I asked her if she could use $5 for laundry.  She told me that she had finished her laundry for today, but that she has to come often to do her laundry and she could really use the money.  I handed her the envelope containing the $5 worth of quarters.  She shook my hand and said bless you.  I asked her name and told her that I would be praying for her in the weeks to come and that Jesus loved her so much!  She thanked me again, and I started to walk back to my car.  For some reason when I got back into the car I began to cry.  I just felt like God had really used me to bless that woman.  He even had her sitting outside for me when I arrived.  Wow, what an amazing God we serve!!

Leave a Reply

