June 14, 2010

Outreach #18 (Encouragement to Others)

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:30 pm by reacheachweek

The other day as I was sorting through some old boxes I came across one of my old journals.  Of course it is always fun to read the things we wrote years ago.  One of the things I found in my journal was a poem that I wrote when I was serving as Outreach Pastor at a church in Colorado.  I thought I would share it with you today.

For the homeless who are hungry and haven’t eaten for days.

For the mother who is left alone with many children to raise.

For the teenage girl who is pregnant and feels confused and alone.

For the wife who is on her knees praying desperately for her husband to return home.

Through the storms of your life when all hope is lost,

Just remember you were bought by Jesus at a very high cost.

He hears every cry and wipes every tear,

He brings comfort and peace and takes away every fear.

He loves you so much no human word could define.

The love that He has for you is eternally divine!

 

The love of Jesus is truly amazing!!   I am so thankful that through the storms of my life I have a refuge in a God who is faithful and who loves me more than anyone else in this entire world!  My outreach last week was very simple.  I just made an effort to encourage those around me with the love of Jesus.  I made a phone call to a friend who is going through a very difficult time right now.  I genuinely complimented a lady that I didn’t know who was in the check out lane behind me at Target.  These gestures, though they seem small, really bless the heart of God!!

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.  Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another all the more as you see the day approaching”                                                                                                                                                      Hebrews 10:24-25

Leave a Reply

