June 28, 2010

Outreach #20 (Special Needs Carnival)

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:50 pm by reacheachweek

On Saturday Rick and I volunteered for a carnival that our church was putting on for children and adults with special needs.  It was absolutely AMAZING!!  I was blown away by how well the carnival was run.  There were games, live animals, lots of food, a DJ playing fun music, cotton candy and the list goes on!  It touched my heart to see these kids and adults have such a wonderful time.  I volunteered at one of the food tables distributing condiments and helping those who needed it put the right toppings on their burgers and hot dogs. 

I think there is a lot we can learn from those with special needs.  I pray that my heart will be as selfless, loving, and non-judgemental as these precious ones who were at the carnival!  I know the Lord looks down on each one of them with a  loving smile!  My prayer is for the parents/caretakers of these individuals with special needs.  For a long time my Mom took in kids with disabilities so I know first hand how difficult a job this can be.  Will you join me in praying  for strength and wisdom for these families?

“The Joy of the Lord is your strength.”  Nehemiah 8:10

Leave a Reply

