August 2, 2010

Outreach #22 (Divine Appointment)

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:53 pm by reacheachweek

It’s been a few weeks since I have blogged about opportunities to reach out each week.  I’m finding that instead of strategically planning a way to reach out each week that the Lord is really just setting up divine opportunities for me to help someone in need.  For instance, last week I was at Wal-Mart and before I started my shopping I had to run to the bathroom (this is happens a lot when you are expecting! :-). 

As I was washing my hands I heard a lady in one of the stalls coughing and sounding very sick.  I wanted to ask if she was okay, but I didn’t want to bother or embarrass her.  When I walked outside the bathroom I noticed a guy standing next to the bathroom with a wheelchair.  I asked him if he was waiting on someone in the Women’s restroom.  He told me his sister was in there and he was really worried about her because she has had a lot of medical problems over the last year.  I asked if I could offer his sister a bottle of water.  He said that would be wonderful.  I went and grabbed a bottle of water out of a case of water that I was going to purchase.  I handed it to the man and asked him to give it to his sister.   Before I walked away I told the man I would pray that his sister would feel better.  He smiled and said thank you.

I didn’t go to Wal-Mart that day expecting to reach out to someone, but thankfully the Lord gave me the opportunity.  It’s really neat that in this process to tangibly touch someone’s life each and every week, it has really become a LIFESTYLE!!  My prayer is that even after my 52 week challenge, I continue to live like Jesus and bless those around me DAILY!!

Leave a Reply

